NEW YORK REQUIRING QUARANTINE FOR SOME VISITORS FROM OUT OF STATE
New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo announced on August 11th that individuals traveling to New York from certain states seeing spikes in COVID-19 cases will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon entering New York State, New Jersey, and Connecticut. The requirement applies to travelers from any state which has a 10% positivity rate for the total daily tests, or states that have 10 residents out of 100,000 test positive for COVID-19. Both metrics are based on a seven-day rolling average.
Currently 33 locations meet the quarantine criteria; Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virgin Islands, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Visitors from those states must self-quarantine for 14-days upon entry.
The penalty for violating the travel advisory is a fine up to $2,000, or up to $10,000 if the individual causes harm while in violation of the advisory. Enforcement will be by local law enforcement. Governor Cuomo suggested police officers will be stopping cars on the road with license plates from locations whose residents are subject to the Executive Order while traveling to New York. There are exceptions for travelers who spend less than 24 hours in an affected location and for essential workers.
You can learn more by visiting coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory.
This is not intended to be legal advice. You should contact an attorney for advice regarding your specific situation.
Be sure to visit our Coronavirus Resource Page for more information.