NEW YORK REQUIRING QUARANTINE FOR SOME VISITORS FROM OUT OF STATE
As of June 30, 2020, the states of California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee have been added to New York’s travel advisory and incoming travelers to New York are subject to a 14-day self-quarantine upon entry.
New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo announced on June 24th that individuals traveling to New York from certain states seeing spikes in COVID-19 cases will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days after entering New York State. The joint travel advisory, which is being issued in conjunction with the States of New Jersey and Connecticut, takes effect on Thursday June 24th. The requirement applies to travelers from any state which has a 10% positivity rate for the total daily tests, or states that have 10 residents out of 100,000 test positive for COVID-19. Both metrics are based on a seven-day rolling average.
Currently sixteen states meet the quarantine criteria; Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, Utah, Tennessee and Texas. Visitors from those states will have to self-quarantine for 14 days upon entry.
The penalty for violating the travel advisory is a fine up to $2,000, or up to $10,000 if the individual causes harm while in violation of the advisory. Enforcement will be by local law enforcement. Governor Cuomo suggested police officers would be stopping cars on the road with license plates from states whose residents are subject to the Executive Order while traveling to New York.
This is not intended to be legal advice. You should contact an attorney for advice regarding your specific situation.
Be sure to visit our Coronavirus Resource Page for more information.