10 Sure Ways to Lose Your License
For most of us in the Hudson Valley, getting to work, doctors appointments, and other necessary locations all depends on being able to drive. The loss of a license is a consequence that most people are at least basically familiar with in a DWI case.
What most people do not know is that there are literally dozens of ways a driver’s license can be suspended or revoked in New York. Vehicle and Traffic Law § 510, entitled “Suspension, Revocation and Reissuance of Licenses,” is just one statute providing for the loss of a license; this section alone is 13 pages long when printed out! What can be surprising is that many of the grounds for a suspension or revocation do not even relate to driving at all.
For example, conviction for the federal crime of Advocating for the Overthrow of the Government results in a mandatory revocation of one’s driver’s license under New York law!
Of course, it is unlikely that anyone reading this would be advocating the overthrow of the government, but, the point is that there are many situations that can cause a loss of a driver’s license which may not occur to most people.
As such, here are 10 sure ways to lose your license, for both driving and non-driving related situations:
1) Using a fake ID to purchase alcohol;
2) Drug sale and drug possession crimes, including “marijuana sale and possession crimes”;
3) Failure to maintain vehicle insurance;
4) Bail forfeiture for certain offenses until the driver returns to and submits to the jurisdiction of the court;
5) Failure to respond to a traffic ticket until the driver submits to the jurisdiction of the court and pays a suspension lift fee;
6) Three or more speeding ticket convictions within 18 months;
7) Leaving the scene of a personal injury accident without exchanging information and reporting the accident;
8) Falsely reporting an incident in the First Degree;
9) Failure to file a motor vehicle accident report;
10) Accumulation of 11 points on a driver’s license within 18 months.
The take away from all of this is that no matter how minor a situation may seem, it is worthwhile to consult an experienced Vehicle and Traffic Law attorney when charged with a crime, after receiving any notice from a state agency alleging a debt or violation of its rules, a traffic ticket, or a car accident. Doing so early gives you the best chance at protecting your valuable ability to drive.
This is not intended to be legal advice. You should contact an attorney for advice regarding your specific situation.
He can be reached by phone at 866-303-9595 toll free or 845-764-9656 and by email.